A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 1 – Getting Started Is The Hardest Part

on October 1, 2012

I’d like to think I am generally a pretty brave person but I’ll admit it.  When many of the fantastic bloggers (see my blogroll) that I follow started talking about the October “31 Day Challenge” I was a little intimidated.  But, I was up for the challenge and here I am.  Clearly I have lost my mind!  You can read more about my story over on the “About Me” page.  🙂

So what is this 31 day challenge all about, you ask?  Well, it’s pretty straightforward.  You simply pick a topic and write about it for 31 days. Whatever is on your heart!  My friend Ruth has the most amazing blog that you will see me refer to a LOT.  She has been such an inspiration since I found her site over a year ago.  Check out her “31 Days of ZERO spending challenge”.  Wow!  And if you don’t have your own blog, feel free to leave your daily progress in the comments below or start a 31 day journal!  I’ll add links to other bloggers and their “31 Day Challenge” posts throughout the month.  So many amazing ideas!

While my challenge should honestly be “31 Days to an organized blog” (because I might not know what I am doing) I really need to get a handle on this house.  And I need support because I could talk myself out of doing this pretty easily!   We moved (again) in May because we wanted a better school zone and in doing so, we lost some space (but we gained an awesome pool!).  Let me first say… I HATE moving.  And between me, The Husband and our three boys (The Teenager, Middlest and Littlest) we had somehow accumulated so many things.  So needless to say I was on a Mission. From. God. to get rid of as much as possible BEFORE the move.  It was almost a vendetta.  We even had a garage sale (another thing I just really can’t stand to do – I’d rather just donate it all and sleep in) and we did end up making a few hundred $$ which helped pay the movers, so that was a bonus.  By the time we moved, I felt like we really had gotten rid of a lot and I was actually feeling pretty proud about it too (I might have even high-fived myself at some point).

It is apparent now that I was clearly mistaken because…

Why are both the front room and garage in the new house so full and disorganized??!  Five months later?  How is this even possible?   I should set up a hidden camera (or hire those “ghost hunter” people) because I swear the boxes are reproducing overnight.    And how have I let this sit like this since May??  I am ashamed.  The truth is… getting started is the hardest part.  There have been several times over the last few months that I have woken up with great determination and I have opened up the garage door all fierce and ready to tackle the challenge.  Then, when I took a long look, it just became too overwhelming and, anyway.  Wouldn’t it just be nicer to enjoy a cup of coffee by the pool?  Or maybe to get a root canal?

Alright now, since I am truly committing, here are the “before” garage pictures as it stands now…  Don’t judge me.  🙂

So THERE’S where I left my exercise ball. Huh.

The cars are more than a little bitter at this point…

Oh dear…

Now I can tell you this.  I wouldn’t even let someone I KNOW look in my garage so this is a really big step for me!!

Needless to say, the garage will be a month long organizational process so there will also be quite a few daily  “mini-challenges” in between now and that 10/31 garage “reveal”!

The front room, the pantry, the kid’s rooms, my closet (now THAT is a picture that will be hard to take!), my couponing workspace…   I think I need a nap already.

While getting organized might seem like a pretty obvious plan of attack on the surface, it actually goes much deeper than that.  When we are surrounded by clutter or piles that need to be sorted or things that we don’t use or need, it can actually make it that much harder for us to think straight and to be creative.  I know that, at least for me, it can cause depression and make it hard to focus on even the smallest tasks.  A good organizational system doesn’t mean you have to pay some big company to come in and build fancy closets.  There just has to be a system.  The simple idea of “everything in its place” certainly seems nice until it’s 6PM and everyone hits the door  – shoes fly off, backpacks land everywhere, there is homework to do, dinner to make…   And we work full time so who has time during the week to be organized??   Gosh, even just writing about it kind of makes me want to curl up into a ball and wake up next Spring!

But I think I can do it.  I’m certainly going to try and we’ll see where we land after these 31 days (Fiji would be nice right about now!).

So how about you?  31 Days of Great Food?  31 Great Parenting Tips?  31 Ways to Save Money?

I’ll bet you have some great ideas too and I can’t wait to hear them!  Thanks for stopping by!

2 responses to “31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 1 – Getting Started Is The Hardest Part

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging Claire! If it makes you feel any better our garage, until about 2 weeks ago, was WAY worse than that. We literally hadn’t parked a car in there since Hurricane Charley in 2004. (And getting it clean is part of the 31 day challenge!) I love your blog name, it is perfect. 🙂 Be sure to link up with the Nester if you haven’t already.

  2. Claire says:

    Hi Ruth! I am so honored you are the first person to ever comment on my blog! 🙂 I’ll get the word out at some point. Need to keep up with these 31 days first! I love the Nester – I mentioned her in Day #2.
    Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

