A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 2 – An Organized Freezer (or three)

on October 2, 2012

This is Day #2 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here!

__________________________________________________

Ahhhh Day 2 and I am already behind.  But that’s ok.  This one is about food (which I happen to love) and the organization of all things frozen.

Way back when I started this blog (two days ago) I decidedly made a choice to NOT discuss coupons until maybe sometime next month. This is not a couponing site, but since we are on a tight budget, I can’t begin to tell you what a 180* difference couponing “the right way” (thanks to one really fantastic website) has made in our lives over the last year and a half.  So I’ll certainly tell you more about my experience with that later but suffice it to say… thanks to coupons, we’ve created quite a little stockpile of food for not a lot of money.  Which is handy since I have three bottomless pits to feed.

We eat a LOT.

Sure, it’s great to buy things you need (and I am not talking about 200 bottles of mouthwash!!) at rock bottom prices IF (here’s the big caveat) you will use them.  And we actually do pretty well with that – sale or not, we only buy things we will use – so our stockpile isn’t really too nuts at all.  But…  since we have a second fridge/freezer and also a chest freezer in the garage (yes, the dreaded garage) things can get buried and sometimes forgotten.  Boy, I HATE wasting food so tonight we are going through the freezers and making sure we plan our meals more accordingly this month.

It definitely helps that The Husband and I both love to cook and that I love to bake  (sooo every month or so we may share some crazy, insane picture of food or a recipe that may make you stop whatever you are doing and either:   A) cook or  B) order take-out.  You have been warned  🙂    Yesterday I mentioned my friend’s site and her 31 Days of Zero Spending challenge so getting our frozen stockpile organized in this way and planning menus is certainly going to help us with spending less this month!

And, for your reading pleasure, here’s another great 31 Days blog at the Nesting Place.  The Nester is another one of my favorite bloggers.  Check out her 31 days of “Home. On Purpose”.  And, if you scroll all the way down after her entry I think you will be amazed at how many people have embraced the 31 Days challenge.  I know I was blown away!

Ok, back to organizing the arctic.  🙂

Leave a Reply

