A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 3 – Organizing Our Thoughts

on October 3, 2012

This is Day #3 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here!

__________________________________________________

Whew – it’s just hard to be this “organized”  but ohhh how it feels good to take the steps in the right direction!  If you are just tuning in you can catch up here!

My goal tonight was to organize my home “work space”,  and then a dear friend called while I was on the way home from work and she really needed some support.  I ran home and pulled a dinner together to take with and went right over.

It got me thinking, however, about how it really takes a “game plan” to keep moving forward through any surprises that life might throw at us.   It’s going to happen. Things will come up.  Life throws us curve balls.

And I’ll be honest – initially I was  thinking  “This can’t happen tonight!  I HAVE to get my 31 Days blog” posted!!”  (Really??)  But then the quick reality check set in.  This wasn’t a family emergency.  While it certainly wasn’t what I planned for tonight, that’s ok.

We’re all busy and we all have the same 24 hours in a day and finding the perfect balance between work and life is consistently a challenge.  I know that, at least for me, lists are a huge help in staying on task.  I have applied this at work for years and I am always on time and on budget.  I am now seeing how this will also come in handy at home (why did I not apply this sooner??).  I would like to think I am a focused person but when I look around the house… ugh.  It’s just so easy to get distracted from the task at hand (and if those “tasks” weren’t all so ANNOYING it would be make them easier to finish! 😉 )  But if I have things written down, I find that it’s much easier to keep moving forward and to finish what I’ve started.

So, I am going to get my overall list together – I hope it will help me to be more prepared to handle those “curve balls” that life throws at us!

And I can post about the work space tomorrow.  Glad to have been there for my sweet friend.

I would love to hear your tips about staying on task!

~ Claire

Leave a Reply

