A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 4 – An Organized WorkSpace

on October 4, 2012

This is Day #4 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here!

__________________________________________________

I don’t know about you, but any flat surface in my home is game for just about anybody and everybody to set down anything and everything.  Even my couponing workspace.  Is nothing sacred??  Stuff just… magically appears.  So once a week I shuffle things around and try to make my grocery lists, which is hard enough when surrounded by (sometimes) screaming banshees – let alone piles of stuff!!

So today, I decided I would put on my “Bad Mama” hat and get down to business.  It doesn’t help that this workspace is in a very centralized location – the kitchen.  Eventually when I take control over the front room later this month, I may re-think everything anyway.  For now… here’s what I was up against today:

As you can see… it’s just complete chaos and mayhem.

I spent a little time putting everything away and finding new homes for things that fall into the “no man’s land” category.  Space is at a premium right now since, as I mentioned on Day 1, we lost some square footage and closet space in the move.

Here is my more organized space:

Of course one of the biggest keys of this organizational challenge will be to STAY organized.  I may initially have to post WARNING signs to help “my little angels” get into the habit of putting things away (ie: “I just cleaned this space and if you set something here I will cut you Mommy will be very unhappy.” 😉  )

While we need to get the broken blind fixed (and eventually I will address all window treatments in the house) we are on a spending freeze for October!!   But this is better for now!

Do you have a dedicated home workspace?  Does it get out of control and crazy or have you mastered this?  Would love to hear your comments and tips too!

~  Claire

2 responses to “31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 4 – An Organized WorkSpace

  1. Jessica V. says:

    Our home office is also in the kitchen – when we had our 2nd child, we turned our office into his bedroom and had to condense everything into a very small space. I have to assume that everyone has that one big pile of papers that need to be sorted, filed, paid, responded to or just plain thrown out – but ours drives me nuts since it is so front and center. Every so often, one of us will get annoyed enough with it that we actually tackle it – and that actually happened this weekend! Now – let’s see how long it lasts…:-)

    • Claire says:

      Oh the dreaded piles, I know! They do just seem to appear don’t they? Good luck with keeping it organized – I know I sure have issues sometimes!
      Thanks so much for stopping by, Jessica! Hope you will come back and visit again soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

