A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 8 – Restoring Something Old

on October 8, 2012

This is Day #8 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here.

__________________________________________

I don’t know about you, but I have had plenty of times in my life where I have experienced “buyer’s remorse”.  And never over some major expenditure like a car or anything big, but just the guilt over buying something I really didn’t need – a new outfit, new shoes, or even just some (stinking adorable) thing that I couldn’t resist at Target that didn’t cost “that much”.  But I didn’t really need it.

What happens is that those little things add up and suddenly hundreds of dollars or more cannot really be accounted for at the end of the month.

And I will be the first to agree that we ALL need to treat ourselves sometimes – I am definitely not saying you should never have a splurge.  A new outfit.  Dinner out.  New shoes (wheee!!!).  Of course that needs to happen from time to time.  This is important.  Balance is good.  I just have gotten much better about saying “no” to things that I just couldn’t “live without”.

This past week, however, I have actually been experiencing “seller’s remorse”!!  Did you ever get rid of something and down the road you thought “Wow, I really wish I had held onto that?”

When I was pregnant with Littlest, I found this adorable antique vanity – glass top intact and all. You can’t tell in the picture (and it’s the only picture I have on file and was during a move, so it really doesn’t show it off too well), but the top doors are swung open – they close to cover the top front.  Stinking cute.  Anyway, it was the perfect size and height for a changing table.  The little concave changing pad fit perfectly on top!

It was a really great and useful piece and I always got comments on it.  Then, when we moved 4 years ago, it ended up just sitting in the garage.  When we moved again 5 months ago, I dragged it along with us to our next garage.  It became clear after a month or so that I really just couldn’t keep this stuff around (there was also a 3 piece parlor set taking up precious garage real estate!)  My sanity was on the line.  So when a dear friend came to take the parlor set off my hands, I said “if you want that vanity too, you can have it”.   So no, I didn’t really “sell” it but, either way, off it went.  And don’t get me wrong. I am actually REALLY glad they can use it!  It’s just that now the idea that I could have repurposed it for something else just makes me a little sad.

But we can’t live in the past so I am trying to be better about re-inventing pieces / things that I already have as I move forward.  I have been so inspired by Shaunna over at Perfectly, Imperfect.com.  Talk about a gal who knows how to re-invent pieces of furniture and make them just… beautiful.  She is has her own 31 Day challenge going on as well and you can also see her “Before & After” gallery here.  Amazing stuff!!

One piece that I have held onto for over 20 years is an old wooden card catalog (thanks to my, now retired, teacher Mom that saved this piece from being thrown into a dumpster all those years ago when schools started going to a computer based library system):

When she first gave it to me, I slapped a coat of white paint on it, not really thinking about it (I was young 🙂 ) and it was “fine” for many years.  And now, while I really want to re-paint the piece, I am still undecided about colors.  I started the process of taking off the paint and I painted the legs a few years back and then stopped mid project since I just haven’t decided where I want this piece to end up living in our home.  Anyway, painting this and getting it finished is definitely on my list but one of my projects this month is organizing the drawers. What a mess!

 It has become a catch all for just about every random thing you could think of (yes, even an old antique abacus – random).

So, one of my goals this month is to get this organized!  And hopefully I will also have some epiphany about paint colors soon as well.

Glad I didn’t get rid of this one over the years – now it’s time to make it more functional!  Hope you are all having a great week and would love to see pics of any pieces you have restored or re-purosed too!

~ Claire

One response to “31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 8 – Restoring Something Old

  1. Kaye says:

    Can’t wait to see what you decide to do with the card catalogue. Don’t get rid of the abacus. It may sell on ebay someday for whio knows,,,maybe $10.00.

Leave a Reply

