A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 12 – The Cluttered Bedroom

on October 12, 2012

This is Day #12 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here!

__________________________________________________

I absolutely love home makeover shows.  I love the “Before & After” pictures and browsing through home and room redesign photos.  So inspiring (and also sometimes depressing – let’s be honest).

Yeah, this is one of those weeks where I feel like my entire house will forever be a “Before” picture.   I am not sure how 5 people (and 1 cat) can create such a massive mess in one week!  And the truth is, a lot of the problem areas that need to be addressed have been piling up for WELLLL over a week.

The good news is that this “31 Days” challenge has us tackling all of the disorganization one area at a time.  The bad news is, it’s the 12th and I just spent an hour wandering aimlessly around the house once again trying to find my focus.  There’s a door over there and I don’t want to walk through it.

Oh wait, that’s our Master Bedroom.  Kind of unavoidable, that one.  Although these pictures DO make the couch look a lot more appealing at the moment…

I have REALLY been procrastinating on this part of my challenge (and I have plenty of excuses depending on how much time you’ve got to listen)!  But, for the next 24 hours I am going to only focus on that bedroom and I am hoping that by the end of the weekend it won’t be so scary anymore.

I’ve taken a few pictures and I didn’t clean up one single thing beforehand.  This is Friday night and here’s what I am looking at (it’s terrible, I know – here goes):

We love books.  There are many other shelves in our home (not to mention boxes stashed) just loaded with them.  These stacks were set here quickly to unload a box or two when we moved in and I just haven’t really looked at the shelf again (even though I pass it numerous times every day).

And this pile… well a lot of it is actually to donate but it hasn’t made it into a bag (let alone to a donation center).  Not to mention, it’s covering up a pretty darn cool red chair.

So, there it is.  The clutter, piles and mess.  Bare walls while stacks of pictures wait to be hung.  Ugh.

I would like to pretend that I am absolutely as appalled as you might possibly be.  But in all honesty, it has just not been on my top priority list even if it should have been, and I clearly haven’t made the time to tackle it.  On to the positive…

As I think about our bedroom makeover, the gentle reminder that we are only renting for now (“gentle” like a light smack in the the head!  Ha!) keeps causing me to mentally pull back from being as free and creative as I would like to be with this, and other spaces, in our home.  It’s just a little hard – ok it’s almost impossible – to change a few things that I REALLY just can’t stand.  Like the floor tile… why would anyone choose that tile for the Master Bedroom??   I am definitely a hardwood floor kind of gal but it wasn’t to be for this one.  More on the tile choices throughout the rest of the house in a later post – it will definitely come up again.

But (!!) I have learned a GREAT deal from looking through countless pictures online and also from The Nester.  If you don’t read her blog, you really should.  She has truly embraced her rental home and has made it “her OWN”  and she is just amazing at re-inventing and creating beautiful spaces.  You can also see one of her articles about being “Content To Rent” HERE.  I want her to adopt me but that’s mostly because I don’t want to deal with my bedroom.

Sooo here we go.  The goal here is to work with what we’ve got!  We love the back patio and pool – now it’s time to “take over” the inside and infuse it with things that we love.  Will post the bedroom pictures by the end of the weekend so please check back (and hold me accountable)!!

For now, I’ll leave you with one of my favorite posts I read today by sweet Edie over at Life In Grace.  Talk about inspiration. Her contagiously endearing blog is filled with more Southern adorable-ness (and amazing “Before and Afters”) than you can shake a stick at.  I want her to adopt me too.

I guess I better get crackin’!    😉

5 responses to “31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 12 – The Cluttered Bedroom

  1. […] 31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 12 – The Cluttered Bedroom Oct […]

  2. Alisha says:

    Hi Claire! Just stopping (found you through your link @ LivingWellSpendingLess) — and I am just relieved to see that I am not the only one with a bedroom that looks like this! Going to start on my bedroom tomorrow! 🙂

    • Claire says:

      Alisha!! I am so happy you stopped by! I think I have seen your posts for quite a while on LWSL (and also SWSL?). If this is a different Alisha, no worry. 🙂
      The bedroom was a challenge and so happy with the results! This whole month has been much harder than I thought it would be but in a good way. I am amazed at Ruth’s daily blog… hopefully I’ll get the hang of it someday! Thanks again and hopefully I will “see” you here again soon.
      ~ Claire

      • Alisha says:

        I often leave comments on LWSL — and I am a blogger over at SWSL, so yep, that’s me! So nice to meet you! I will let you know how my bedroom turns out! 😉

      • Claire says:

        You too and – yay! Your Saving Well, Spending Less posts have helped me make my Target list for almost two years. 😉 Thanks! (and I meant to say “comments” on LWSL”) Can’t wait to see your bedroom pics! Let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

