A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 17 – The Front Room Reveal

on October 17, 2012

Thanks for stopping by!  This is Day #17 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here!

__________________________________________________

Whew. This room has been a mental (and sometimes physical) challenge!   Ultimately, this space is a multi-purpose “Guest Room, Home Office, TV Room for the Teenager, Husband’s band equipment storage, and sometime Little Kids Play area”.   I knew it would require some extra attention.

First, organizing your home can cost a little money, so I have been trying to be very judicious about where the budgeted dollars are being spent this month.  It can be very difficult (and sometimes impossible) to function or to be creative in a cluttered environment.  It’s just not good for anyone, and I also don’t believe it sets a good example for my children – especially the teenager.  It was a little hard to harp on him about cleaning his room when ours was a disaster!

There are some areas / rooms (like my couponing workspace) that cost me no money to get in order.   The Master Bedroom ended up costing $291 (I had budgeted $250).  We hadn’t updated our bedroom (even through two moves) since 2004 so sometimes ya’ gotta spend a little money AND always repurpose what you can.

And then sometimes you plan on repurposing an item and it just doesn’t work out.  This is the case with the old (and granted, cheap) 10 year old desk that I wanted to re-utilize in this front room re-do.  It just didn’t work.

So I hadn’t planned on buying the new desk in this case, and this cut back on a few other things that I had planned on buying (I wonder how many times in how many posts I can mention “area rugs”??).  Anyway,  sometimes that happens, and you just have to roll with the punches and cut back in other areas.

We had budgeted $350 for this space.

If you remember yesterday’s post (and there is more detail there about the items filling this space as well) here’s what we started with:

Kind of makes you want to run screaming over to a more beautiful blog space, no?  It’s ok, me too.  You can just peek through your fingers and continue on for now.

Here’s the “After”.  It actually still has a little way to go but we are so much happier with this (the picture looks very yellow – the walls are off-white):

And:

The TV is out for repair and when it comes back, it might be wall mounted.

Nice to have an organized desk and work area for everyone, especially for the boys and homework.  And I am hoping it will also help keep our dining area cleaner!!  Woohoo!

Shopping details:

Target

  1. New desk   –   $99.00
  2. Two new bookshelves @ $69.00 each – $138
  3. Four organizational bins for the bookshelves @ $7.99 each  – $31.96
  4. Two green window Panels @$24.99 each – $50
  5. Two  cream window panels  @ $10 each – $20

So there we sit at $339.  And still no area rug  (Haha).  I might  buy some rich brown spray paint tomorrow (two cans will cost me $10 at Ace Hardware) and paint those two pine corner shelves which I think will really finish it off but I need to live with the space a little more first to see.

So there’s the front room.  It is now a functional space that I won’t be embarrassed by when I come in the front door.

And it is amazing how, when the room became organized and clutter free,  Littlest immediately wanted to be in there and went right for his easel which he hasn’t been able to get to in months! (Bad Mama!!)

I think we all need sleep now.

Thanks for stopping by!  As always, I would love to hear your feedback. Do you have a multi-purpose room?

xoxo

~ Claire

******************************************************************************************

10/26/12   – Linking up to some FABULOUS Ladies and Linky Parties:

Enjoy the linky parties!!

Leave a Reply

