A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 19 – A Place To Belong

on October 19, 2012

Thanks for stopping by!  This is Day #19 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here!

__________________________________________________

Happy Friday!! (I think…)

I say that because, in the midst of this sometimes overwhelming “31 Days” series, I realized a few days back that tomorrow is the 5K MudRun obstacle course we signed up for last month. Oh dear.  Granted, this was before I decided to jump off the proverbial cliff and dive headfirst into not only a new blog, but also this very challenging “31 Days” project.   This month I have been both inspired and tired!  Fortunately the “inspired” part weighs out (although you can’t deny your body the sleep that it needs when you are trying so hard to get an area of your home to the “After” photo stage)!

We started on the kitchen and pantry and that was going to be my post today but then a few things happened:

First, I realized that I need to rest up for this (CRAZY) race tomorrow and there is no way I can stay up til all hours getting the kitchen post up (can you believe I am making such a mature decision?!).  🙂   I am such a night owl and my posts tend to go up at crazy hours, but… I am by no means an athlete!  I think I know I need some quality sleep to pull this one off tomorrow!  I may not be able to move tomorrow night anyway!  This will be my 2nd MudRun / Obstacle 5K but this time The Husband is racing too (and The Teenager, again).  I hope they’ll come find me after a few hours if I just keel over.  😉

Second, my parents took the smaller kids for the weekend so we took advantage of a very rare night out to dinner (yay – date night!) !!  Our Anniversary is actually next month but since we’ll be inundated with Family and Thanksgiving, etc., we cheated and celebrated earlier (not to mention, we had a 50% off coupon! Woohoo!!).

Third, I was reading The Nester’s blog yesterday and the post had some links to some pretty amazing other blogs.  Always a treat.  I have found so much inspiration from so many amazing women online over the last year or so (see my BlogRoll).  It’s one of the main reasons I am here and was so encouraged to start my own.  I hope I can inspire someone – even one person- the way some of these ladies have inspired me.   So one of the links in Nester’s post was to a gal named Ellen’s blog called SweetWater.  First, I love that name.  Next, her post yesterday was called “Belonging” and it was just so right on and when I read it late last night I simply just… well, I felt like I could breathe.   I didn’t realize how hectic this month has been and I guess it really just was exactly what I needed to read right at that moment.

There were so many things she wrote that touched me and I love this one:

“Your home? More than it needs to be spit-shined and sparkled up? More than it needs to be glossy page worthy? More than it needs to be liked or likeable? It needs to be a place to belong.”

Wow.  So, I encourage you to take a little visit on over to  Sweetwater –  I know I was truly happy to find this little treasure of a blog and I look forward to reading more!

More to come from my own home front again soon.  I hope you all have a restful, rejuvenating weekend!  I will post a  picture from my race if I survive.  😉

In the meanwhile, I’d love to hear what blogs inspire you the most too!

~Claire

Leave a Reply

