A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 29 – The Card Catalog Reveal

on October 29, 2012

Welcome!  This is Day #29 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here!

__________________________________________________

I cannot believe it is already the end of October.  Again.  Time flies when you’re  organizing your house.  😉

Ok, back to the card catalog (and this post is a.k.a. “The Card Catalog – Part 3” – see “Part 2” here).

So we were back at it today (well late today, amid work and a routine parent-teacher conference and real life, etc.).  All of the paint has now dried and The Husband made quick work of getting all of the hardware back in place.   First, here’s a little bit more detail on the drawers:

Since there is a gap inside which can allow for items to fall through…

Silly!  Anyway I added some colorful card stock to line the drawers.  It was what I had on hand and decided it was better than orange.  Maybe someday we can have little wooden inserts made for the bottoms of these drawers but for now we’re on a budget!

The rods that cut through the middle of the drawers made it a wee bit inconvenient…

We actually DID get a cutter that may work to trim these rods, but doing that this eve would have entailed a “Card Catalog: Part 4” post so please use your imagination for now.  🙂

On to the reveal…

So, as much as you know that I just L-O-V-E  light blue, I chose a more neutral color palette for this.  I did consider stain for the top section, but some of the wood is actually not that great of a grade so the base is now a color called “leather brown” with the top finished in a lighter khaki.  I wanted the drawers to pop but didn’t want white, so those are now a lighter cream color.

And, can I get a “woot woot”??  I am SOOO proud that I was able to get some “After” pictures while it was still daylight.  I am not a vampire y’all…  I repeat, I am a night owl.   I just can not seem to get anything posted before the sun goes down.

Here’s the “Before” once more (for dramatic effect):

And the “After”:

And…
And then in place:
Back to the drawers… a “Before” reminder…
And now they are all organized and labeled.  Fancy, huh?
Can you believe that seven (SEVEN) drawers are now empty (thus, not labeled yet) after I de-cluttered???   Unheard of.   I think this could disturb the time-space continuum.  I also may now start charging rent for that precious drawer space.
And that brass sure polished up nicely – all these years and I never knew the potential there!

Of course I am already debating repainting  the legs a different color,  but I think I will get over it once the wall it is up against – below the chair rail – is painted.  I “strongly dislike” (using my nice words) the color that the previous owner chose, which I have now deemed to be called “Baby Poo”.   Sorry, but it’s true.

But I won’t tell the little kids that.  Fits of giggles would immediately ensue and would last well past bedtime and beyond.

Speaking of…  here’s a later edit (11/13/12) adding a photo I just found of Littlest putting on an impromptu show inside the base before it was refinished…

Silly!!  So at long last – the card catalog project is finished!

A last side by side image:

What fun restoration projects are you working on?  I would love to read your comments so please take a second and let me know what you think.

Be safe and all the best to you and your families this eve.  BIG prayers going out to those impacted by Hurricane Sandy.

xoxo,

Claire

************************************************************************************************

Linking up to some fabulous parties:

26 responses to “31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 29 – The Card Catalog Reveal

  1. Looks like a labor of love that is going to love you back! Amazing piece and you did a fabulous job on it. Who can have enough drawers, especially ones with such a nostalgic look to them? Nice!
    Liz

    • Claire says:

      Thanks Liz! And there cannot be enough drawers… lol Hope you will stop by again soon. I loved your “While I Slumber”post. Like I mentioned in my garage project post, I think this stuff reproduces overnight. Gahhh!! 🙂

  2. marianhd says:

    It’s so neat that you’ve repurposed what is now an antiquated piece of furniture. I’m trying to imagine explaining to kids the function of a card catalog….do your kids understand what it used to be?

    • Claire says:

      Hi Marian! And the short answer is “probably not” (again I am SO not getting that “Mother of The Year” award). I think The Teenager definitely understands, but I should really try to explain to Middlest. I wonder if the Dewey Decimal system will make his head spin around?? 🙂 You have encouraged me to give him and Littlest a quick history lesson. This is why I love your more intelligent blog. lol

  3. PJ says:

    A card catelog is one of those things I’ve been watching my local thrift store for just about FOREVER!!! I love your redo.

    • Claire says:

      Thanks PJ! Yeah, I have never really seen one and lucked out on this piece through my Mom. Keep an eye out online, though! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. justformeandyou says:

    SO AWESOME! I look for a card catalog all the time, too. Yours turned out perfect.

    • Claire says:

      Thanks so much! It is so nice to see it all restored and organized. I so appreciate you stopping by and I do hope you will find a card catalog one day too! There must be more out there – all libraries had them back in the day! 🙂
      – Claire

  5. Great find! I just found your blog through Fox Hollow Cottage’s Power of Pinterest party! I’ll be pinning your blog post to my board of that name. I’ll be following your blog and looking forward to more great posts! Love what you did with the card catalog! Hugs, Leena

  6. Mary says:

    Hi, this is too funny or is it fate! I just pinned your project to Pinterest from Debbie’s party . . . and the funny part is I just rec’d my masters degree library media! So I LOVE your project!!! I’m now following you! Have a great weekend & please stop by and say hi when you have a moment!

    • Claire says:

      Thanks so much Mary! I love your site too. I have to figure out how to follow you so will sign up for the Linky Followers later today. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Claire

  7. I love it! what a great place to store all things crafty!

    • Claire says:

      I thought I replied to this before – thanks so much!! So glad you stopped by. I’ve been over on your blog today already! Your post today was ahhh-mazing. 🙂

  8. Sherry says:

    Cute remodel!
    Sherry

  9. Rebecca Owen says:

    This looks so great. I am surprised by the color choice, but it looks clean and well-done. I just ordered MMS milk paint in Lucketts green, which i think I’ll use on my card catalog finally!

    • Claire says:

      I really debated about color. For about 9 years or so – lol. Since I want to paint the wall it is against brick red I decided to go a little more neutral for now. But I could still change my mind! 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

  10. debbiedoos says:

    How cute…what a neat piece that is. Thanks for sharing and inspiring at the newbie party.

  11. Shannon says:

    The space-time continuum is totally out of whack (lol)! This is a really nice makeover and I give you a lot of credit for having the patience to redo every little pull.

    • Claire says:

      Haha – I am glad someone gets my silly humor! I will give The Husband the most credit for the polishing of said knobs and pulls. He’s my hero. 😉
      Thank you so much for stopping by!

  12. I always knew I liked card catalogs for some reason! What a fun project and you did a fantastic job! Visiting from the Newbie Party. Would love to have you visit me at Still Woods Farmhouse. In the meantime, I am on the hunt for a card catalog!

    • Claire says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by! Hope you can find a card catalog – they are neat little pieces.
      Will definitely stop by your site later this eve once I get this next post up! 🙂

  13. NKB says:

    I don’t even remember how I landed on your blog, but I am glad I did, the 31 days series had me hooked up the whole of today. I even read thru feeding lunch to my 20 month old son…haha he kept trying to see what I was so engrossed in. I am definitely gonna come back for more, and read all your recommended posts as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

