A Little Claire-ification

bright ideas for the busy & budget minded…

31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 22 – Step Into The Kitchen

on October 22, 2012

Thanks for stopping by!  This is Day #22 of my “31 Days To An Organized Home” challenge.  If you missed it, you can catch up with Day #1 here!

__________________________________________________

I don’t know about you guys but today is a perfect example of a stereotypical “Monday”.   Not to be snarky but… I have had work meetings and calls all day and have tried to simultaneously multi-task on our kitchen / pantry re-do.  And I was doing pretty well at it, too!!

Until the internet crashed.

At least the wireless portion (and that is what we all use around here).  The cable monopoly  company is coming tomorrow afternoon.   It happens.  All my chickadees are home safely so I can’t really complain. I am going to try to get back on on a little while to at least get the “before” pictures up from the hard connection.  For now, The Oldest needs to do homework!

In the meanwhile, I hope you have all had a fabulous day with none of these types of shenanigans or goings on! 😉

To Be Continued ASAP…

*************************************

UPDATE  – The children (both large and small) are all sleeping.

And apparently so are most “normal” people using our internet provider’s bandwidth, because the signal has picked back up a little bit.  Either way the “big monster cable company” is coming out tomorrow to “fix everything”.  At least that’s what they promised, so heres hoping!

On to the Kitchen “Before” pics… I won’t make it through the “After” this eve but it’s something to look forward to tomorrow, right? 🙂

First, I do SO love the kitchen (you must believe this even though the pictures below look a little bit like a war zone).  The Husband and I both absolutely love to cook.  I also love to bake.  We have a (possibly) unhealthy relationship with Food Network and The Cooking Channel and all things food.  We might have stalked local food trucks and Farmer’s Markets.   I mentioned in a previous post that I haven’t set foot in Williams Sonoma in a few years because, frankly, I would like to be able to put my children through college and I don’t need the temptation.

However, this month is not about recipes and baking goodies – it’s about organizing our home (and I won’t lie, I can’t wait until next month right now  🙂 ).

So our “new” kitchen was hard to photograph. I tried!   First, here are two pictures from our previous home that we had renovated just to try and help put it all into a bit more context:

And…

Someday I will post all about that renovation.  For now, the space we are working with is a bit “challenging” – nicest word I could think of  (we still have the same bratty kitty as shown on the island above, however 🙂 ). You can also see that our makeshift island – with “fancy” corner pads so the little guys didn’t lose an eye at the time –  is the desk that would just not work in last week’s Front Room Reveal post!)

Here are the current kitchen pics:

And to try to give a little more detail – our laundry area is in the kitchen as well…

And you recall my couponing workspace is also in the kitchen…

So, there is the “before”, as best as I can show it.  I have decided to make the pantry a separate post.  It’s a little messy but it’s pretty small and we had just organized the “stockpile” a month ago so I am  focused on the kitchen and how we can take half the space we had with the same amount of people (and they’re getting bigger!!) and make it work!

Looking forward to posting the reveal tomorrow.   Sadly, hardwood floors will NOT be happening, but no problem!  We will do what we can with what we’ve got, right?  🙂

Happy organizing!  I look forward to reading your kitchen stories / memories or makeover posts too!

xoxo,

~ Claire

2 responses to “31 Days To An Organized Home: Day 22 – Step Into The Kitchen

  1. Hey, don’t let it take the joy out of your day! It will all be water under the bridge tomorrow. Look at the bright side, it does us all good to step away from the ‘puter now and then. See you tomorrow. Take a deep breath. Breathe. Sending you a gentle hug.

    • Claire says:

      Thanks Sandra! It’s all good. Organizing what I can during the technical difficulties. At least I can reply via my phone! 🙂
      Hugs right back, Claire

Leave a Reply

